Dragons in the Dark – Chapter – Glory’s Birthday

“I’m sorry, babe. I have to work today. Are you okay on your own? I’m off at 4 so we can go to my mom’s.” Glory was still wrapped in Lucas’ arms but her alarm had just gone off.

“That all works. It’ll give me time to get you an amazing birthday present,” Lucas answered, drowsily.

“Better than becoming my boyfriend this weekend? Best birthday present of my life so far,” she answered, still reluctant to leave him alone in bed.

“I guess I might have to go a little ways to top that, but I’ll try,” he said, looking down at her until she turned her face up to him for a kiss.

“Come shower with me,” she whispered against his lips. “Start this birthday off right.” She rolled out of bed trying to pull him out with her.

“I’m coming!” he said, finally, and she let go of his hand and made her way into the bathroom, listening to him grumble behind her about having to get up this early when he didn’t have to work.

But it was all worth it when he stepped into the shower and Glory pressed her wet body against his and kissed him deeply. They explored each other with lips and soapy hands and in the end they held each other tightly, recovering their breath in each other’s arms under the steaming water.

“Good start to your thirtieth birthday?” Lucas said, breathlessly, when he could speak again.

“I told you, best birthday ever, babe,” she said, turning her face up to his for a kiss.

“Are you doing anything for lunch today?” Lucas asked, hopefully.

“I’m going to work through so I can take off a little earlier. Unless you really want to meet me for lunch. I’m only getting off early so I can be with you, so either way works for me,” Glory said, coquettishly.

“Get off early. I don’t know where I’ll be at noon, or if I will have found your birthday present yet,” Lucas said.

Glory gave him an impatient look. “You don’t have to buy me anything, you know. I’m not in this for the goodies.”

“I know…that’s what makes buying you something even more fun. You don’t expect it. Do you know how refreshing that is?” Lucas asked.

“Oh, I have expectations,” Glory said. “but they’re not things.” She reached down to playfully cup his balls.

“You want more? I don’t want to make you late for work,” Lucas whispered against her lips.

“True. Rain check, though. Tonight, after dinner,” she said.

“Deal,” he said, kissing her again. “What do you want for breakfast?”

“I usually just have some Cheerios and a fruit. Wanna join me?” she asked, turning off the shower.

“I’ll grab something later. I’m not hungry yet,” Lucas said, grabbing a towel to hand to Glory before taking one for himself. Glory finished drying off and by the time Lucas had finished drying off and shaving, she was in the kitchen having breakfast and making her lunch. He pulled some clothes out of his suitcase and went into the kitchen to join her.

At the door, they held each other and shared a long, soulful kiss, before Glory finally pulled away and headed for her car.

She spent the rest of the day in a bit of a daze. Most of her co-workers came by to wish her a happy birthday. Her boss had a card for her and chatted with her for a few minutes about her plans for that night. He had met Lucas at the art show the month before and would often come and talk to her about what Lucas was doing in his professional life. Desirée wanted to take her to lunch, but she begged off, saying that she was meeting Lucas after work, so they made plans to go out the next day.

When 4 o’clock came around, Glory was packed up and ready to leave as soon as the clock struck the hour. She was trying not to be too excited about what Lucas might have bought her, but that was a hard sell. She was also excited to introduce him to her mom and sister and the rest of her family as her boyfriend! Again, she couldn’t keep the smile from her face when she thought about it.

Lucas was waiting for her when she got home, and he had a package for her to open before they went to her mom’s.

“I don’t know if you’d want to open this one in front of everyone,” he said, seductively.

She gave him a sideways look and took the box over to the couch to open. What was inside was magenta and satin-y and very skimpy. “Are you sure this is for me and not you?” she asked, looking at him sitting next to her on the couch.

“Well, my birthday is next month…” he said, letting his voice trail off at the end.

Glory stood up and held the nighty up in front of her and looked at the g-string panties. “You’re going to have fun getting this off of me,” she said, leaning down to give him a kiss.

“Yes, I am,” he said, huskily. “Here. Open this one, too. Something you might be able to wear tonight.”

Inside the second package was a purple camisole with a lace edging along the neckline. It had spaghetti straps and fell to her hips. Underneath it were the matching bra and panties.

“Wow…and these all seem to be my size. Should I be concerned at how comfortable you are buying women’s lingerie?” Glory asked with a laugh.

“I’ve never dated anyone who didn’t like receiving lingerie, and, you’re right, it’s partially for me, too.” He smiled at her. “Were you going to change for your mom’s? Wear these.” He held up the box with the camisole in it for her to take into the bedroom.

Glory took a lot of care getting dressed. She had a dress that she wanted to wear that night and the lace on the camisole just peeked out around the neckline and complemented the navy blue dress perfectly. The bra and panties were a perfect fit, which made Glory wonder a little bit about Lucas. She hadn’t asked, but now she wondered how many girls there had been before her. Could she ask now that they were dating?

She touched up her make-up a little bit and went out to make her entrance. Lucas was still on the couch and stood up when he heard the bedroom door open.

“Wow! You look great!” he said, standing up to come over to her and take her hands.

She lifted her face up to his to accept his kiss. “Can I ask you something?” she said, when they pulled apart.

“Of course,” he said. “Anything.”

“How many girlfriends did you have before me? If we were putting a number on it, what would your number be?” she asked.

He looked at her for a long time before answering. “You may be surprised at how few there have been,” he said, finally.

“How few there have been?” Glory asked.

“I’ve never been a promiscuous guy. Too Catholic, I guess,” he said.

“So, how few have there been?” Glory probed, not letting it go.

“Do we have to do this now? Can’t we talk about it next time?” Lucas said, continuing to put her off.

Glory looked at him concerned. “If you don’t want to tell me, that’s fine. We can talk another time.”

Lucas sighed. “Five girlfriends, ten lovers in total,” he said, quietly.

“Ten’s not so bad,” she said with a smile. “Why would you worry about that?”

“It’s the only five girlfriends I was more worried about,” he said. “You think it’s okay that I’ve had more lovers than girlfriends?”

“Now what do you consider is the difference between a girlfriend and a lover?” she asked him.

“Well, we were lovers before this weekend. No real commitment, we could see other people, just getting together for sex,” Lucas said. “A girlfriend, I consider as someone I’m in an exclusive relationship with. There’s sex, but there’s more.”

Glory smiled and moved away from Lucas a little bit. “Are you counting me as one of the lovers?”

“No, not anymore,” he said with a smile.

“Okay, so the 5 lovers never got to be girlfriends. So there have been 5 lovers and 5 girlfriends before me,” Glory said, nodding her head. “That’s not bad.”

She was moving around the apartment starting to get ready to leave. Lucas cocked one eyebrow at her and said, “What about you?”

“Oh, is this show and tell night?” Glory asked.

“I told you…” he said, firmly.

“Okay…” She paused for a minute to count. “Well, I’ve had 4 boyfriends, but more lovers. I’ve had a few one night stands and some non-committed relationships…maybe 10 in all.”

“So 14 in total…?” Lucas asked.

“That sounds right,” Glory said.

Lucas nodded and then smiled. “No wonder you give such an awesome blow-job!” he said after a minute.

“So, we’re good? I didn’t freak you out or anything?” Glory asked.

“Nope. Not much you could have told me would have freaked me out,” he said. “Just because I’ve been a monk, I don’t expect others to be. Are you ready to go?”

She smiled at him and said, “Yeah, I’m ready.”

 

Beth met them at the door of her apartment with a big hug and a kiss for Glory. “Happy birthday, darling. I can’t believe that you’re 30!” She kissed Glory on the cheek again and waved her into the house.

“Lucas, it’s great to see you again. So glad you’re here for Glory’s birthday,” Beth said, pulling him in for a quick hug as well.

“Wouldn’t miss it,” Lucas said with a smile.

“Come on in. You’re the first ones here, so we have some time to chat,” Beth said.

Beth offered Lucas a beer and Glory a glass of wine and they sat down in the living room to chat.

“Mom,” Glory said. “Lucas and I have decided to…become exclusive.”

“So, he’s your boyfriend?” Beth asked.

“Yeah, that’s right,” Glory said, giving Lucas an adoring look.

“Well, that’s nice. How’s it going to work with you guys living so far apart?” Beth asked, her brow furrowing in concern.

“We’re not sure yet, Beth,” Lucas answered. “We’ll play it by ear for now and see what happens. Hopefully, at some point, we’ll be able to find a way to live in the same city anyway. For right now, it’ll have to be a long-distance relationship.”

“Congratulations are in order, then. I hope it works out for you guys,” Beth said, lifting her glass of wine up to toast them both. Lucas put his arm around Glory and lifted his beer to toast the two women.

The doorbell rang and Beth went to answer the door and let Claire and Diana and her family in. Holly was right behind them.

There were lots of congratulations for the happy couple and then Beth called them into the dining room for dinner. Steak and potatoes with asparagus was one of Glory’s favourite meals and she ate with gusto. After they were done, Beth brought out a chocolate cake almost completely covered in candles!

“Mom, you didn’t actually have to put 30 candles on the cake. Way to make me feel old!” Glory said, smiling after they had all sang her ‘Happy Birthday’.

Lucas laughed. “My mom always does that to me. But she does get a bigger cake usually,” he said.

“So you’ll have 35 to blow out next month, is that right?” Glory asked.

“Never mind teasing me about my age. You need to save your breath for this,” Lucas said, pointing to the flaming cake.

Glory took a deep breath and started to blow the candles out. She was really pushing it by the time the last candle was extinguished, but she got them all out!

“Yay!” Holly exclaimed. ”What did you wish for, sis? What would you need other than what you already have?”

“I wished for world peace. Thought that would be pretty safe,” Glory said, jokingly.

“Okay, time for gifts!” Beth said, pulling out a bag and a box for Glory to open.

The box contained a beautiful red and black cardigan. The colour faded from black at the top to red at the bottom. It flared prettily at the bottom and looked great over her navy blue dress. She spun once to show the flare of the sweater.

The other box was a dress with a blazer. “Just in case you have an interview to go to,” Beth hinted, none to subtly.

“Mom thinks I’m underpaid for what I do,” Glory said as an aside to Lucas.

Holly had a tiny box that she had wrapped prettily with ribbons and a bow.

“This is too pretty to open,” Glory said, giving her sister a hug.

“What’s inside is pretty, too,” Holly said, and she was right. The earrings were drops with a shepherd’s hook and 3 stones, going from a pale amethyst to a deep eggplant.

“Oh, Hol…they’re perfect!” Glory pulled off the earrings she was wearing and put on the new earrings before leaning over to give her sister a hug.

Lucas smiled and said, “Those look beautiful on you!”

Claire and Diana had bought Glory a new comforter for her bed. “The last time I was there, the one you have looked a little threadbare,” Diana said.

“Okay, now me,” Lucas said, pulling out a little velvet covered box from his pocket.

Glory gave Lucas a withering look. “You didn’t,” she said, angrily.

“Maybe…” Lucas said. Glory opened the box and found a dainty ring inside. There were 2 stones, one dark blue, the other, light blue.

“It’s just a promise ring. I found one that had stones the colour of my eyes and your eyes,” he said, pointing to the two stones.

Glory tried it on her right hand ring finger and held it up to the light. The smile on her face told Lucas that this had been the exact right gift to give her. She turned to him and wrapped her arms around his neck and said, “Thank you, babe. It’s perfect!”

“You’re welcome, sweetie. It looks really pretty on your hand. I knew I’d have to find something delicate,” he said, turning his head to kiss her neck through her hair.

When he looked up, though, he caught a disapproving look from Beth. I guess I should have known she wouldn’t approve, he thought.

“It’s a little early for a ring, isn’t it?” Beth said, taking Glory’s hand to look at the ring and then up at Lucas.

“It just says that we’ve made a commitment to each other, nothing more. And it’s pretty and delicate so I thought it would look nice on Glory’s hand,” Lucas said, only a little defensively.

Beth kept her eyes downcast, looking at the ring and nodded. “Don’t move too fast, okay? You guys have lots of time,” she said.

“Don’t worry, mom. I’m not ready to walk down the aisle yet,” Glory said, leaning over to hug her mom.

“Neither am I,” Lucas added, with a shy smile.

“Let’s have cake!” Beth said, turning to pick up plates and forks off of the counter behind her.

Once everyone had a piece of cake in front of them, the conversation turned to inconsequential things as they ate. There was much laughter with Lucas there. He had a great sense of humour and lots of great stories from his movie-shoots and hanging out with other Hollywood types. His humour was light and self-deprecating and put everyone at ease.

They moved the party to the living room after the cake was done and spent another couple of hours talking and laughing. Beth watched Glory with Lucas and she could see that there was love there. She was more than a little concerned about the long-distance nature of their relationship, but she hoped they’d find a way to work that out.

It was about 10 pm when Glory called it a night. She still had to work the next day, although she had let them know that she would be in late so she could see Lucas off at the airport. She had a new nighty to try out that night, so she had a great reason to head home a little early.

After they had left, Beth pulled Claire aside.

“I don’t know about this,” Beth said to her sister.

“He seems like a nice guy and Glory adores him. It should be alright,” Claire said. “He’s a lot of fun to be around.”

“I know, but long distance relationships are tough to keep going at the best of times. Maybe I shouldn’t worry; this may just fizzle on its own,” Beth said.

“Let’s hope not,” Claire said. “He seems to really make her happy.”

 

Lucas and Glory fell giggling into her apartment. She had been teasing him all the way home and now was his turn to get even. He pressed his lips to hers and cupped her breast through the material of her dress, camisole and bra. “You’re wearing too much clothes,” he said, huskily.

Glory reached down and grabbed the bottom of her dress and lifted it over her head. She tossed it over onto the couch and returned to Lucas’ embrace. “Better?” she said.

“Much,” he said and swooped down to scoop her into his arms. “Bedtime, baby.” He carried her into the bedroom and dropped her on the bed and lay over her kissing her face and neck, then moving down lower. Glory closed her eyes as he moved his lips and tongue slowly down her body, teasing and arousing her and bringing her to a shattering orgasm, before moving up to thrust himself deep inside of her to find his own release. Lucas held her gently in his arms as she slowly came back to her senses.

“I love you, Lucas,” she whispered. “Today has been perfect. You’re perfect.”

Lucas laughed. “I am far from perfect, love, but I’m glad it was such a good day for you. Happy birthday again.”

“Thanks, babe.” Glory drifted on the edge of sleep, enjoying the feel of Lucas’ strong arms around her.

They lay still for a long time, each occupied with their own thoughts. Finally, Glory said, “So now we have to talk about getting me to Boston for your birthday,” Glory said.

“Yeah, that’s going to be fun! I can’t wait for everyone to meet you! My mom’s been bugging me, especially since Greg and Kayla have met you,” Lucas said, a slow smile spreading across his face at the thought of his mom. “Can you swing an extra-long weekend? Maybe come up on Friday and fly back on Monday?”

“Maybe. Let me ask at work. I’ve got lots of vacation time left for this year, so I should be able to. If I can work from there, I may be able to come for longer. I’ll check with my boss this week and I can let you know. Will we be staying at your mom’s? You mentioned your condo in Boston once.”

“We’ll probably stay with mom the night of the party, but we’ll be staying at my condo. I can’t wait for you to see it. I’ve got your painting up and it looks great!” Lucas said.

Glory didn’t say anything for a few minutes. Lucas stroked her hair off of her face before asking her, “Everything okay? You got awfully quiet all of a sudden.”

“Yeah,” she said and paused for a few more seconds. “No. All of those people have met your other girlfriends and lovers. I don’t know how I’ll stack up.”

“They all love me. The fact that I love you will be enough for them. I surround myself with some pretty awesome people, so I don’t think you need to worry,” he said, quietly.

“Okay, so when is the party? Your birthday is on Monday, right?” she asked.

“Yeah, but the party will be on Saturday,” he said. “If you can come up on Thursday or Friday and then fly home on Monday or Tuesday, that would be great! Even if you have to work part of that time, that should should be fine. I’ll have to help my mom set up for the party anyway, so I’ll be busy.“

Lucas kissed her forehead. “I am so excited that you’re coming down!” he said.

Glory smiled to herself and snuggled in closer in to his side. “Just don’t abandon me with a bunch of strangers, okay? I had a boyfriend who always used to do that to me and it made me really uncomfortable.” She had closed her eyes and suddenly realizing how tired she was.

“Don’t worry, love. I’ll stay right by your side. But I don’t think these people will be strangers to you for long,” Lucas said, softly. “They are going to love you just as much as I do.”

“Hmmm…I hope so,” she mumbled, sleepily.

“Sleep now, love. I’ll see you in the morning,” Lucas said, stroking her hair off of her face and away from his nose.

Leave a Reply

