Dragons in the Dark – Chapter 7

“That was fun!” Lucas said to Glory on their way back to her place. He was driving; he had noticed early in the evening that Glory was enjoying her wine, so he stopped drinking so that he could get them home.

“It definitely went much better than I thought it would.” Glory said. “Mom was in good form tonight. She’s usually really hard on Jeff and whomever I’m dating. Holly said Jeff was working, but he was probably avoiding mom.”

“Why is she so hard on your guys? Does it have anything to do with your dad leaving?” Lucas asked.

“It has everything to do with my dad leaving. Mom has real trust issues around men. She doesn’t even date anymore.” Glory shrugged. Her mom had always been tight-lipped about her dad’s leaving…Glory had woken up one day and he was just gone.

“Maybe I won her over with my charm?” Lucas offered.

Glory smiled at him. “Maybe…or maybe your celebrity status made her a little shy of giving you a hard time.” she said. She was turned sideways in her seat so she could watch him drive.

“Well, it’s such a pain in the ass sometimes, it’s got to be good for something!” Lucas said with a self-deprecating smile.

“You covered nicely when mom asked where you were staying.” Glory said. That could have been disastrous!

“Well, she didn’t actually ask where I was staying, just where I stayed when I was in Toronto, so I wasn’t lying. I do usually stay at the Crowne Plaza, as you know.” Lucas said.

Glory chuckled. “It was still a nice save,” she said. “Thanks.”

“No problem, babe,” Lucas said as he manoeuvred through the light evening traffic easily.

“And what’s with you and babies? Kelsey is sure a fan.” Glory asked. “Are you always like that?”

Lucas shrugged. “I love kids. They’re so honest and present. And they love nothing more than having a grown-up to play with…and I love to play! I’m just a big kid at heart.”

“So…you have a dream of being a dad someday, I take it.” Glory said.

“I think most guys do, don’t they?” he said.

“I guess.” Glory said, falling silent. Lucas glanced over at her at a red light.

“Not on your list of dreams?” he said, quietly.

“I guess I’m not the nurturing type. I like kids, but I’m not longing for a family of my own. That might change in time, but right now, I’m happy to do my own thing without those kinds of responsibilities.” Glory said. “I see Diana and Mitch and how they are now that they have Kelsey…I’m not ready for that.”

It was Lucas’ turn to be silent for a moment. Then he shrugged. He still had no idea how serious this was going to get, so there was no point sweating this now. Even if they did end up together, they were years away from kids. Who knew what might happen in that time?

It took them a few minutes to get all of Glory’s paintings up into her apartment and then she flopped down onto the couch. Lucas grabbed them each a beer before joining her.

He put his arm around her and she curled up next to him. He smiled to himself. He could definitely get used to this.

“Thank you so much for today. Not just the signing and helping out at the art show, but being there for me at dinner.” Glory said, taking a sip of her beer.

“That’s how I lure young girls in.” Lucas said, in a teasing voice. “I’m sweet and nice and then I take you to bed and you see my true nature.”

Glory giggled.

“What’s so funny, little girl?” he asked, putting his beer down so that he could tickle her. “If you want to laugh, I can make you laugh.”

Glory screamed with laughter and tried to push him away long enough to put her beer down. “Stop! Stop! I’m going to spill my beer!” she pleaded.

Lucas plucked her beer neatly from her hands and put it down next to his. “So tell, me…what were you giggling about?” He had both of her hands held tight in one of his, leaving his other hand free to tickle her if he didn’t like her answer.

Glory felt herself start to panic as she always did when she was trapped. She stiffened but held his eyes to keep the panic at bay. “Your true nature, eh? What is your true nature, movie-boy?” she said with more bravado than she felt.

Lucas gave her a wicked little grin and said, “You should know by now.”

Glory giggled again. “Yes, I do…that’s why I giggled.” and tried to pull away before he could start tickling her again, but to no avail. He pinned her to the couch underneath him, still tickling her and kissing and licking her face.

Finally, she managed to get her lips on his and their giggling and laughing heated up quickly to something more serious.

“I think this is more your true nature.” Glory said, breathlessly. “You’re a lover, not a fighter.”

“That is true.” Lucas said, and they said nothing else for a long time as they kissed and touched and teased each other.

“Wow! It’s been a long time since I’ve made out on a couch.” Lucas said. “Should I go grab a condom, or move this to the bedroom?”

“Let’s go to bed.” Glory whispered. She stood up and grabbed her beer, then sashayed towards the bedroom.

Lucas went around and shut off the few lights they had turned on before joining her in the bedroom, where he found her already under the covers.

“I was starting to wonder if you got lost, movie-boy.” Glory said, huskily.

“Just shutting down for the night.” he said, pulling his sweater off over his head and undoing his belt before slipping out of his pants. “Are you keeping my side warm for me? I hate getting in to a cold bed.”

“Well, my side is warm.” she said, suggestively. Lucas came around to her side and slid in beside her, running his cold hands up her side to her breasts and kissing her deeply.  She rolled over so that she was on top of him.

Glory sat up and reached over to the side table for a condom. She sat so that she could unrolled the condom slowly over him. Lucas watched this performance intently, trying to keep himself from throwing her over onto her back and fucking her. He loved the play, the tease, but sometimes it got to be too much.

Once she had him well protected, she lifted herself to slide down his length and took him deep inside of her with a moan. She leaned forward with her hands on his shoulders so that she could slowly move him in and out of her. She kissed him deeply and he held her ass with both of his hands, helping to raise her all of the way off of him before letting her plunge back down.

“Oh, god!” he said, as she continued this slow tease.

Glory sat up and cupped her breasts, pulling on her nipples and moaning. “Not god; goddess.” she corrected him, breathlessly.

“My goddess.” he said, replacing her hands with his on her breasts. “Come for me.” he whispered and let one hand drop down between her legs. Glory had been so close that his touch brought her orgasm slamming down on her. She pulled her legs in tight trying to contain the pleasure as she spasmed around him. He gritted his teeth as he let her feel the full extent of her orgasm before flipping her over onto her back and thrusting into her hard for his own climax. They lay like that for a few minutes, helplessly lost in the pleasure.

Lucas rolled off, holding his condom, and reached for tissues, then pulled her in close beside him, smoothing her hair away from his face…and he felt it again. That tenderness and caring; that stillness and peace that he associated with love. But even after all that they’d done this weekend so far, he wasn’t ready to speak of this feeling to her yet. He still didn’t think she was ready to hear it, or was feeling it herself yet…maybe she never would.

He stroked her hair and her back as she settled in closer to him. Her breathing soon fell into the rhythm of sleep and Lucas was left alone with his thoughts.

He fell in love too easily; he knew that about himself. But that was him and he wasn’t about to change. He had spoken the words too soon on a few occasions to his great detriment, so he was very careful about that now. Until he saw some indication that she felt the same way about him, he’d keep his counsel.

But here, in the dark, with her sleeping body in his arms, he could say the words, even if he was the only one who heard them. “I love you, Glory.” he whispered to her before closing his eyes and settling his mind for sleep.

 

Sunday was a quiet day. They woke late and kept each other in bed for an extra hour making love and talking. After a quick shower, Glory took Lucas through her yoga practise, offering some options that might work better for him than what she did. She had been doing yoga for a long time so she didn’t expect him to be able to do some of the more difficult poses, but he did surprise her. His core strength was up to most of what she did, even if he’d have to work on his flexibility.

They lay for a long time in Savasana. When Glory sat up, Lucas was still enjoying the peaceful quiet. He heard her soft voice say, “Stay there as long as you need to, babe.”

He cracked open one eye to see her sitting cross-legged with her eyes closed in quiet meditation. So he went back to his stillness.

When Glory was finished, she quietly got up and moved into the bedroom. She had some stuff to get organized for the work week and some emails to respond to. When she poked her head back out into the living room, she saw that Lucas was sitting cross-legged on his mat, so she sat back down on hers to finish their yoga session.

She brought her hands into prayer position and said, “Namaste.” and Lucas responded in kind.

“What does that mean?” Lucas asked. “Namaste.”

“That which is divine in me sees and honours that which is divine in you. It’s a word spoken between two peoples’ souls.” Glory said.

Lucas nodded and got to his feet, offering Glory a hand up, which she took. After cleaning and rolling the matts away, Glory fixed them bacon and eggs for breakfast. “Not exactly Ayurvedic, but I never claimed to be a yogini.”

Lucas laughed. “Much better than tempeh sausage any day.”

“You were a vegetarian at one point in time, weren’t you?” she asked, nibbling on a piece of bacon.

“Yeah, for a while…but I love meat. I try to buy from organic, sustainable, humane sources and I try to eat vegetarian once in a while, but not all the time.” he said, putting a forkful of eggs into his mouth.

“I try for one veggie meal a week…or more. It’s easier to cook veggie for one person than to cook meat, but I still like my meat.” Glory said.

“So, what’s on the agenda for this afternoon? Are we painting?” Lucas asked.

“If you want.” Glory said. “It’s always nice to paint with someone else.”

“I did start painting at home. It’s really meditative for me. I never realized how peaceful it would be, being creative like that.” he said, finishing his coffee.

Once the breakfast dishes were done, Glory set up the easels while Lucas took a couple of calls.

“My mom wants to meet you.” Lucas said once he got off the phone.

Glory made a face. “You’ve told your mom about me?” she asked.

Lucas shrugged. “You didn’t tell me this was a secret…I’ve told everyone about you.” he said.

“Everyone, as in who? And what’s there to tell?” Glory was very surprised that he would show this much interest in her when they weren’t together.

“Just a couple of my close friends and my family. Well, Greg and Shana already knew, but I told my mom, and my other sister, Becky. Does that bother you? I was really surprised to hear that you hadn’t told anyone about us.” he countered.

“Again, I’m still not sure what to tell them. And I’m not sure I’m even ready to define this as anything yet. We get together when you come to Toronto…that’s it, isn’t it?” she asked.

Lucas was starting to mix paints on his palette and didn’t answer for a moment.

“Yeah, that’s all it is for right now. I do really like you, though. Can I hope for something more someday?” he asked, focusing his eyes on his canvas.

Glory started mixing up her paints as well and they both started to paint in silence. Glory sometimes put on music when she painted and that day, she had put on the flamenco guitar music of Jesse Cooke, so the mood in the room was fiery and upbeat and that mood was reflected on both of their canvases.

They painted for over 2 hours before Glory felt her neck start to seize up and she had to take a break. She took a look at Lucas’ painting.

“I love the colours!” she said. “It reminds me of a sunrise over the lake, all blood red and golden yellow.”

“Like flames coming out of the water.” Lucas said. “You should see the sunset over the ocean. It’s spectacular!”

Glory stood next to him taking in all of the nuances of his painting. It was abstract, but she could sense the stillness of the water reflecting the intrusion of a new day. The fire radiated from the surface of the water out to the corners of the canvas. He had a very good eye and expressed himself well with paints.

Lucas stepped over to see what Glory had painted. It was him. The blue of his eyes, the reddish tinge in his beard, the black marker he used to sign autographs.

“I wanted to capture the essence of what a fan feels when they come to you for an autograph; there’s such anticipation and joy, but fear, too, which you seem to ease with your smile and your twinkling eyes.” She pointed to different areas of the canvas as she spoke. “I watched you yesterday. You almost have it down to an art. You take control of the situation and put everyone at their ease. It’s a joy to watch you work.” Glory was looking up at him as she spoke. She had to admit that she was still a little bit in awe of this beautiful man.

Lucas felt a blush start to burn up his neck. “That’s not really watching me work. Someday, I’ll bring you on-set for one of my movies and you can watch me do my real job.” he said. “This is part of being a celebrity, not part of being an actor.”

“So there’s no acting involved when you talk to fans?” Glory said, incredulously.

“Well, maybe a little.” Lucas said with a little laugh. He came around behind her and put his arms around her to get a better view of her painting. “You’ve never asked me for an autograph.” he said, trying to sound blasé.

She took both of his paint-stained hands and placed them on her breasts. “I can think of better uses for these hands than signing silly pictures.” she said in a husky voice.

“Well, I can’t argue with you there. But I’d better clean up before we start anything or I’ll end up marking you for life with these paints.” he said, and moved away to take brushes and palettes into the laundry room to clean up.

Once they had finished cleaning up, though, the moment had passed and Glory suggested a walk by the ravine near her apartment. “It was still pretty dry down by the creek earlier this week, but if it’s wet, there’s a high trail we can take.” she said. “I’m feeling the urge to be outdoors now that spring is finally here.”

“Let’s do it.” Lucas said. He had brought a pair of rougher boots along with his sneakers. They were a fashion choice, but they were leather and a better choice for a walk by the ravine than his Converse.

They walked along the quiet street until they came to the trail that led into the park, then turned down towards the creek. The rushing water drown out most other sounds, but the sparrows and starlings still made their voices heard along with the odd randy robin calling for a mate.

They walked in silence hand-in-hand, enjoying the signs of life bursting forth all around them. Early April was a beautiful time in Toronto; the fauna was just starting to wake up and poke its sleepy fronds up into the light and they could smell green earth all around them.

“You didn’t answer my question.” Lucas said, suddenly breaking into the cacophony of nature.

Glory looked at him confused. “What question?” she asked.

“I asked you if I should hope for something more in time between us.” he said, softly.

Glory shrugged. “There’s always hope, babe. I really like you, too, but there is the matter of us living almost 4,000 kilometers away from each other.” she said. “Makes having a relationship pretty challenging.”

“4,000 kilometers…is that about 2,000 miles?” he asked.

“Something like that.” Glory answered.

“I do spend quite a lot of time in Boston.” he said, hopefully.

“Even that’s almost a thousand kilometers away.” she said. “Let’s face it, if we were going to have something more than this, one of us would have to relocate…and I can’t see it being you.”

Lucas thought about this for a moment. “It would be difficult for me to move up here.” he admitted.

“And, as much as I like you, I don’t want to live in the states.” Glory said. “Most Americans scare me.”

“Me, too.” Lucas said, with a little chuckle. “So I guess that leaves us right where we are. Maybe you could come and visit me in Boston when I’m there…if you want to.”

“I’ve never been to Boston. That might be a fun way to spend a weekend this summer.” Glory said, mulling the idea over in her mind. “Yeah, let’s plan on that.” she said.

“Okay! Well, that’s a start.” Lucas said, not able to keep his pleasure off of his face. He put his arm over her shoulders and they kept walking.

“You know, we should have done this before we painted. I’m seeing so many images that I could put onto canvas out here!” he said.

“There’s nothing stopping us from painting some more when we get back. I have good lighting in that area, so even when the sun goes down…” Glory said. “There’s nights when I come home from work and look up to see it’s midnight and I haven’t even eaten dinner yet!”

And so, when they got back to the apartment, Lucas set himself up to paint again while Glory made them some chili for supper. She had poured everything out on canvas that she needed to and now felt light and empty and not in need of the therapy that a canvas and brush offered her. She found that when she tried to paint when she was like this, nothing happened.

She watched Lucas from the kitchen, dashing off a few lines on his canvas with charcoal before starting to mix colours on his palette. His brush strokes were sometimes bold and sure, and other times tentative and halting. He asked Glory to help him get a particular shade that he was looking for right once, but spent the rest of the time in his own little creative world.

When the chili was ready, she was reluctant to interrupt the creative process, so she walked up behind him and stood watching for a few minutes.

“Chili’s ready, isn’t it?” Lucas asked. “I can smell it.” He didn’t stop what he was doing or look at her.

“Yeah, but it’ll keep. I don’t want to interrupt you.” Glory said, softly.

“Give me…10 more minutes. I just want to finish this…thing.” He pointed his paintbrush at the area of the canvas he was working on. Then he turned towards her and gave her a quick kiss before turning back and placing his brush on the canvas.

True to his word, 10 minutes later, Lucas headed into the laundry room to clean his hands. Glory went and took his brush, and wrapping it in plastic wrap, put it in the freezer.

When Lucas came out, he noticed his brush was gone and looked at Glory for an explanation.

“I thought you’d want to continue after supper, so I put your brush in the freezer so it wouldn’t dry out.” she said.

Lucas nodded and sat down at the table. There was chili and bread and sour cream and cheese. The chili wasn’t very spicy hot, but it was wonderfully flavourful. When Lucas commented on the lack of heat, Glory said, “I don’t really like hot stuff. It burns your taste buds out so that eventually you can’t taste the more subtle spices.”

They enjoyed their dinner with beer, but Glory could tell that the canvas was calling to Lucas, so once they were done, she shooed him back to his painting while she cleaned up the kitchen.

It was another 2 hours before he was satisfied with his work. He stood there and looked at it for a long time before beckoning Glory over for final approval.

“I can see the stream and the early vegetation there.” she said, pointing to the pale green that is only seen in the early spring. “What’s this, flickering through the trees up here?” she asked.

“That’s us;” he said, “two unsuspecting creatures whose souls have been stolen by my painting.”

Glory laughed. “I think that’s just cameras that do that, isn’t it?”

“Well, if that’s the case, my soul’s been gone for years.” he said, laughing, too.

Glory stretched up to kiss him. “Go clean up if you’re done. I’ve got dessert.”

“Dessert’s not you?” he asked, the heat in his eyes telegraphing his need after all of this creative work.

“Maybe…” she said, letting her voice trail off as she moved away from him into the kitchen.

Lucas watched her beautiful ass as she walked away from him and smiled. How could she do that? Turn him on with a look and a smile like that?

When Lucas came out of the laundry room with his smock over his arm, he found the dining room and living room empty. “Glory?” he called out.

“In here.” she called from the bedroom.

Okay, he thought. I guess dessert IS her, and made his way into the bedroom, peeking around the door to see what he was in for.

She was sitting up in bed, completely naked. When she saw him come into the room, she picked up a strawberry and placed it in her mouth, biting it slowly in half, then licking her lips sensuously before putting the rest of the berry into her mouth and delicately licking her fingers.

Lucas leaned against the doorframe to take in the tableau before him. On the bedside table was a bowl of berries and a bowl of whipped cream. This was a game he hadn’t played in a very long time.

“What, no champagne?” he asked with a seductive smile on his face.

“No, sorry. Didn’t even think about champagne when I was planning this. Does it go good with strawberries?” she asked.

“Very good. Maybe when you’re in Boston, I’ll show you just how good.” He pushed off from the doorframe and came over to her side of the bed, running two fingers through the top of the whipped cream, and kneeling beside the bed, offered them to her to lick off. He fully expected the jolt of pleasure to his groin, but he still gasped when he felt her tongue start to lick the sweet cream from his fingers.

When she was done, she gave him an innocent smile and he shook his head. He ran a finger through the whipped cream again, this time depositing it on one of her nipples. She hadn’t been expecting that and squeaked in surprise as the coldness made her areola pucker. But it wasn’t cold for long as Lucas dipped his head to take her nipple into his mouth, lingering there long after the taste of whipped cream was gone.

She drew his mouth up to hers and soon they were lost in each other and had completely forgotten about the dessert that had started this.

As they lay together afterwards, breathless and glowing, Glory asked, “So champagne makes it better than this?” His arms were around her and her head was nestled into his shoulder.

Lucas chuckled, which sounded like thunder rumbling through his chest. “I don’t know about better…that was pretty good…but it is nice with the berries. But it has to be the real deal, though, not some domestic bubbly.”

“I would expect nothing less.” she said, haughtily. “Only the best for the queen of the art show scene!”

Lucas put his head back and laughed. “You were pretty impressive yesterday.” he said.

Glory smiled. Every once in a while, she still found herself thrilling to the fact that this was Lucas Wolfe and he thought she was pretty impressive! She had just made love to Lucas Wolfe and made him chili and taught him how to do yoga. She was a part of his life…his Toronto girl. It gave her a warm glow. Most of the time, it was easy to see him as just a guy, but every once in a while…

The berries and whipped cream got eaten in bed while they talked and Lucas took the dishes into the kitchen before they settled down to sleep.

The next day was Monday, and she had to work. Lucas had lined up several locations that he needed to take a look at and he had an appointment at city hall to talk about the perks being offered film companies for filming in Toronto and area. Glory already had their dinner planned and would set up the crockpot in the morning so that they’d just have to come home and eat.

Leave a Reply

