A Time For Heroes – Chapter 27 – New York City Homecoming

new-york-skyline-at-nightThey pulled up in front of Ginny’s building just before 5. Ginny took their duffle bags upstairs, while Steve took the rental car back. Ginny picked him up there and drove him to his place to pick up his motorcycle. Within the hour, they were walking with their arms around each other, looking for dinner in Ginny’s neighbourhood.

They found Ginny’s favourite Pho restaurant. The owner greeting Ginny cordially and asked how her dad was.

Once they had ordered, they sat holding hands across the table, not really sure what to say to each other.

“I hate this.” Steve said, finally. “I’m excited to be getting back to Avenging, but I wish I didn’t have to leave you behind.”

“I know. I’m just itching to get things started here.” Ginny said with the same sadness. “My life feels like it’s just been in a holding pattern the last few weeks.”

“It hasn’t been all bad.” Steve sounded a little hurt.

“It’s been wonderful, except for a couple of glitches.” Ginny said, glowing at him. “I am looking forward to making love to you in my own bed, though.”

Steve smiled at that thought, although it made him sad to think of the empty bed that awaited him as HQ.

Ginny cleared her throat and Steve looked up expectantly. She was stroking his hand with her thumb and not looking at him. She didn’t speak right away.

“I think…” she started. “I think something needs to be said before we leave each other.”

“I think a lot’s been said already.” Steve said, smiling at the memory of the revelations their trip had brought.

Ginny smiled up at him before looking back down at their hands.

“I…don’t think this will be an issue between us, but I’ve left it unsaid before and been blindsided.” she said, quietly.

Steve brought her fingers to his lips and kissed them.

“I just need to know if we’re exclusive or not in this relationship.” she blurted out.

“Exclusive?” Steve wasn’t sure what she meant.

“Not seeing anyone else.” Ginny clarified.

Steve looked at her for long enough to make her feel a little uncomfortable.

“Do you want to see somebody else?” he said finally, his voice tightly controlled.

“Absolutely not! But, like I said, I’ve assumed before and been hurt. I just want it clear.” she said. “I am yours and only yours.”

He squeezed her hand. “You’ve dated some real jerks.” he said.

“That I have.” she answered with a smile. “And it’s made me cautious.”

“You are the only girl for me, ma chere.” he said, kissing her hand again. “We are definitely exclusive.”

This time he didn’t miss a second of the vibrant smile she gave him.

“I’m sorry I scared you.” she said.

Steve wanted to deny it, but his stomach had definitely dropped when she had mentioned seeing other people.

“I’m getting used to it.” he said. “You seem to be the only one who can do that to me.”

“Ah, love…” she said, dramatically. “Ain’t it grand!”

He laughed. “When it’s not gut-wrenchingly terrifying.” he said. Their food had arrived, so he squeezed her hand quickly and let it go.

They started to eat and Steve said, “So someone that you were dating started seeing someone else?”

“It was in Toronto. We hadn’t been together very long and I went to Montreal for a week with papa. When I came back, it was like nothing had changed, until he took a call on a date from one of his other girls.”

“One of his other girls!?” Steve didn’t know whether to hate this guy or be impressed.

“Yeah, he had a few of us. And when I got upset, he said that we never said we were exclusive.” Ginny eyes were flashing at the memory.

“He’s not even one of the seven. We didn’t get that far.” she finished, and attacked her food.

“I don’t have a string of girls lined up.” Steve said. “The girls up at HQ would disembowel me if I even tried anything!” he said, thinking of Nat and Wanda, Maria and Jas.

“That they would.” Ginny said, laughing. “It’s not that I thought that of you. I was pretty sure I knew where we stood. But I thought I was with that other guy, too.”

“You have no worries here. I’d marry you today, if you’d let me.” he said, sipping his soup.

“Really?” she asked, surprised.

“But I won’t ask until I’m sure you’ll say yes.” he said. “I only want to ask once.”

Ginny was stunned.

“So let me get this straight. If you thought I’d say yes, you’d ask me right now.” she said. “We’ve known each other less than two months!”

“Well,” he said and paused, “I’d probably buy a ring first, but yes. I know what I want. Why would I wait?”

“To get to know me better. To be sure you’re not going to change your mind.” she said, still incredulous.

“I won’t change my mind,” he said, with finality, “and I think it’ll take a lifetime to get to know you and I’m willing to put in the time.”

Ginny shook her head and said, “I’m just not there yet, Steve.”

“I know.” Steve said. “Things are different now, which is why I’m not walking around with a ring in my pocket waiting for the right moment. I’m a patient man. I hope you get there someday, too. But, if not, what we have now is fine, too. More than fine.”

He reached across and touched her cheek and smile. “We’re still on a journey together and I’m loving every minute of it.”

She smiled and covered his hand on her cheek with hers and turned to kiss his palm.

“Not really taking things slow anymore, though.” Ginny said, letting go of his hand.

“Nope. I gave up on that the first night back from the mission, when I realized how seriously I was injured and how close I came to not getting back to you.” Steve said. “That’s when I realized that there’s never going to be anyone else for me.”

Ginny paused and ate her dinner for a few minutes before picking up the conversation.

“I’m still hoping for forever after, too, but I think we still have some hurdles to face before we talk about a ring or even living together.” she said. “For right now, I am committed to you, body and soul. Let’s just put in the time to make sure we don’t end up having regrets or resentment for the rest of our lives.”

He looked up and held her eyes for a long moment before saying, “I love you, babe.”

Then he looked away and shook his head.

“Nope, I still can’t call you babe or baby without feeling foolish.” he said with a self-deprecating smile.

“Honey, darling, dear, love…they all work for me,” she said, “and I still love the way you say Geneviève.”

“Maybe I should stop calling you Ginny, then, and start calling you Geneviève.” he said, smiling.

“But I like the way you say Ginny, too,” she said, then let her voice drop to almost a whisper, “especially when you’re pleading for mercy.” She gave him a salacious smile. “Something I hope to make you do tonight.” She bit the end of her index finger suggestively.

Steve looked around quickly to make sure no one could hear them.

“Stop that.” he whispered, looking serious.

She ran her wet finger over her lower lip before returning to eating her food. Steve was still watching her intently.

“I don’t know how you do that.” He shook his head and went back to eating, too.

Ginny looked up at him with wide, innocent eyes. “Whatever do you meant?” she asked, reaching unobtrusively to unbutton another button on her shirt, showing a little bit of lace and ribbon.

Steve swallowed as he watched this show and managed to say, “You know exactly what I mean. And now you’re doing it on purpose!”

He looked a little bit closer. “Did you change when you stopped at home?” he asked. He didn’t remember her bra having that much lace.

“Maybe.” she said and bit her lower lip while keeping her eyes downcast.

Shit, he thought. I don’t know how to play this game. But he did know one thing that got to her.

He bowed his head over his plate and half-closed his eyes and was rewarded with a sharp intake of breath from across the table.

“You don’t fight fair, Rogers.” Ginny said.

He chuckled at this. “And you do?” he said, under his breath. “How am I supposed to walk out of here?”

“You have your jacket.” she offered.

“Thanks.” he said, sarcastically, and continued eating.

Neither of them said much after that.

They finished dinner quickly and then walked to Ginny’s apartment with their arms around each other.

Ginny fumbled with her keys trying to get the door open. Steve reached around and put his hand over hers to settle her and they managed to get in.

Once inside, Ginny turned to Steve and let her body melt against his as she kissed him deeply. By the time she pulled away, she could feel his erection through his jeans.

She backed away from him a little bit and peeled her leather jacket off and dropped it carelessly on the floor. Then she undid a couple more buttons on her shirt to show more of the pale blue satin teddy she had slipped into while Steve was returning the rental car.

Steve took his jacket off and hung it carefully on the hook by the door, not taking his eyes off of his beautiful lady.

She was backing away from him slowly, unbuttoning her shirt. Once she had reached her jeans, she undid those, too, and then pulled her shirt loose and let it fall to the floor.

She moved closer so that he could run his hand up the satin over her breasts. She slid the back of her hand casually over the bulge in his jeans. He bit his lower lip and half closed his eyes in pleasure.

“Mmmm…remember that look the next time we play this game if you want to get to me.” Ginny said in a throaty whisper.

Steve smiled down at her with his eyes still half-closed. “You’re giving me ammunition?” he asked.

“Of course.” she said. “I love the tease, especially if we can do it somewhere public like tonight.”

He slid both hands down her sides inside her jeans, pushing them down. She took over and kicked them off, leaving her standing in front of him in a baby blue teddy with a tiny flared skirt made of lace low on her hips.

Ginny pulled back and turned around so Steve could see.

“Do you like it? The colour reminded me of your eyes.” she said.

“You bought this for me?” he asked, getting her to twirl around again.

“I saw it a couple of days before we left on the mission. I told you I’d wear something skimpy.” she said. “Besides, it’s probably easier to get off than my uniform.”

Steve laughed. “That was a nightmare!” He was stroking her side up to her breast and back down.

“So soft.” he whispered. Then he scooped her up in his arms and carried her to the bedroom, where she quickly helped him undress.

Then she pressed her satin-clad body against his so he could feel the satin against his cock and kissed him long and deep.

The shoulder straps were already down by the time they got into bed and the rest of the teddy quickly found its way onto the floor.

Steve was enjoying Ginny’s response as he explored with his mouth, but as he moved to go between her legs, she quickly excused herself and went to the washroom.

Coming back a few minutes later, she said, “I thought you’d appreciate it if I did a bit of a wash. I’ve been sitting in jeans in a car all day.”

“Is that bad?” he asked, a little confused.

“Just gets damp and sweaty.” she said, moaning softly as he sucked a nipple into his mouth. He reached down and inserted two fingers inside her and she arched her back to take them deeper.

Then he slid down between her legs and after a few minutes, was rewarded with a long, low moan as he found his spot. He continued to move his fingers inside her as he licked and sucked her clit until she arched her back right off the bed in an earthshaking orgasm.

Steve kissed the insides of her thighs gently as she panted trying to regain her breath. He moved up her body, kissing and sucking, until he reached her mouth.

She kissed him deeply and when she pulled back, she whispered, “You taste like me.”

“I do…you taste wonderful.” he whispered back and kissed her again.

She shifted under him so he could thrust himself home. She was wet and tight and somehow softer than usual and his movements became urgent very quickly as he reached his climax, coming deep inside her.

Steve could feel Ginny’s hands gently caressing his back and her lips press against his shoulder. He felt like he was coming back into his body from far away.

He leaned up on one elbow to look at her face. Her blue-green bangs were over her eyes, so he pushed them up and out of the way and kissed the tip of her nose, which made her giggle. She was looking up at him with the same look of adoration he knew she must see in his eyes.

“Is it always this…urgent, this intense?” Steve asked, quietly, stroking Ginny’s cheek.

“I don’t know.” she admitted, quietly. “When we come together, it feels…brighter, somehow than with the others. Like we’re setting the room on fire.” She smiled, thinking of all of the times they’d made love. “No, this…we are definitely different. So I don’t know if the urgency will last or fade.”

“What was your longest relationship?” he asked.

“Two years with…” she stopped and gave him a worried look.

“With Troy.” he finished for her, with a smile. “I’m not going to fall apart if you say his name.” But he could feel himself slipping out of her, so he reached for the tissues.

Clean up done and Ginny settled comfortably beside him, Steve prompted, “Two years with Troy…”

“Yes,” she said, “but there were so many breaks that I wouldn’t even look at that relationship for guidance. I was with Scott in university for a year and a bit. Our interest in sex didn’t fade, but it did get less urgent.”

“I hope it does fade a little bit. Right now, I’m having a hard time thinking about anything else. You’re very distracting.” He said the last line with a satisfied smile.

“Well, how did you deal with that on the mission?” Ginny asked.

“We hadn’t had sex yet.” Steve reminded her.

“Right.” she said, remembering the look in his eyes when he had said ‘Stay’.

“But the tedious meetings and off-loading were torture. I had to fight to not let my mind stray to you because I’d completely lose track of everything else if I did.” he said.

“Oh, Rogers,” she said, teasingly, “you do have it bad.”

“Please tell me it’s not just me.” he said, pleadingly.

“Oh, no…everything seems to remind me of you…of your kisses, your lovemaking, the colour of your eyes, that enticing lower lip…I’ll see someone with the same shade of hair and suddenly, I’m remembering your hair as it falls forward when you’re on top of me.” she said, quietly. “No, I have it bad, too.”

“Have you ever been with someone who loved you more than you loved him?” Steve asked,

Ginny thought for a moment. “I’ve been with someone whose love for me faded sooner than my love for him.” she said.

Steve didn’t say anything for a long moment, then asked, “Troy again?”

“No, actually, Michel in high school. I should have known it was over but I clung because he was my first. It wasn’t pretty when he finally broke it off.”

“Sounds painful.” Steve sounded sympathetic.

“Extremely.” she said. “But I got over it. Sylvie had just had a bad break-up, too, so we went through a man-hating phase for about a year and then I met Ryan.”

“Did you ever break anyone’s heart?” he asked.

Ginny thought about that for a moment before responding. “I’m sure I did. I know there were a couple of boys in Montreal who thought they had a chance with me on my visits.”

“How about you?” she asked. “There had to be somebody before Peggy.”

“Oh, there were a few girls that I liked, but no one was lining up to go out with little Stevie Rogers back then.” he said. “And I spent most of my time working or helping out my mom, so not a lot of time for romance.”

“It must have been so different for you after the enhancement.” she said. “How tall were you before?”

“5’4”,” he said, “and I think that’s being generous.”

“How did you deal with the way women treated you differently?” she asked. “I’m sure there were line-ups then.”

“I wasn’t focused on women. For me, I had found the love of my life in Peggy. I had lots of women wanting to take pictures with me or touch me, but my focus was the war…and Peggy.” He squeezed her closer. “Just like it’s on you now.”

“Sometimes, I wonder.” he started, then paused. “You and Peggy are so different, yet I love you both.”

“We’re both strong women and a little unconventional, intelligent…and hot…I’ve seen pictures!” Ginny said, with a little chuckle at the end.

“Maybe you two are not so different after all.” Steve said, running his hand up her arm.

“We both love you,” Ginny said, looking up at him, “but that’s easy to do.” and kissed him gently on the lips as she ran her hand slowly down his chest and belly to find that his cock was starting to respond to her touch.

“Enough talk of old flames.” she said against his lips as she stroked the head of his cock with her thumb until he was fully erect. Then she got on top of him and sank down, taking him deep inside of her.

He flexed his hips up so she was settled on him and reached up to caress her breasts.

“I really like the view from down here.” Steve said, huskily, watching Ginny put her head back and cover his hands with hers as he stroked and pulled her nipples.

She bit her lip and asked, “Is there a position you haven’t liked?”

“No.” he said, sitting up so he could kiss her.

After a moment, she pushed him back down and ran her nails lightly down his chest.

“The view from up here is spectacular, too.” she said.

Her nails on his chest had sent delicious chills straight to his groin.

“Do that again.” he said, huskily, pulling her hands back up to his shoulders.

She smiled a slow, sensual smile and applied a little bit more pressure this time.

Steve put his head back and moaned with pleasure as he flexed his hips, and Ginny rewarded him with an answering moan.

Ginny leaned forward, and putting her hands on Steve’s chest, started to move very slowly. Steve laid back and enjoyed the tease until he couldn’t contain himself anymore.

He grasped her hips and pulled her up enough that he could thrust deep into her, finding his climax as she did the same, digging her nails into his chest and pulling her legs in tight to try to contain the pleasure.

She lay down on his chest pulling her arms in and snuggling in as he put both arms around her, caressing her back, trying to keep the chill away.

They lay like this for a long time. Steve would flex his hips occasionally to make sure he stayed hard enough to not slip out of her.

“I can’t remember ever being so happy.” Steve said, quietly.

Ginny pressed her lips against his chest a couple of times before looking up into his beautiful blue eyes.

“Moi, aussi.” she whispered. She lay there thinking about all that they’d talked about that day. The more she got to know him, the more she loved him. What was she waiting for? A sign?

Ginny folded her arms across Steve’s chest and put her chin on her hands to look at him. He put one hand behind his head to look down at her.

She just lay there smiling at him for a long time. He played with her hair and stroked her ear.

“Yes.” she whispered, finally.

“Yes?” he asked, flexing his hips and giving her a suggestive smile.

She pressed herself down on him but didn’t go any further.

“When you ask, I’ll say yes.” she whispered.

His eyes searched her face for any hint of teasing or sarcasm but saw none. He pulled her back down on his chest and held her close. “I was wrong.” he whispered. “Now I’ve never been so happy.”

Ginny brought her head up and gave him a sweet, soulful kiss. But she was getting cold and he was getting soft, so she grabbed the tissue box and wiped up before pulling the blankets over them and snuggling in close to his warm body.

They lay quietly for a long time. Steve caressed her back rhythmically. It was very soothing and Ginny closed her eyes, enjoying the sensation.

Steve shifted a little bit and said, “Why the change of heart?”

“My heart was always on board. It was my head that needed to catch up.” she said, drowsily.

“I don’t want to rush you.” he said.

She didn’t answer for a long time.

“Then don’t.” she whispered, finally. Then she squeezed him tight before getting up to use the washroom.

Steve watched her go and knew that she was still struggling with this. She said yes to please him and maybe there was a part of her that was ready, but the time obviously wasn’t right.

He sat up and took his leg off. It was still early, but it didn’t look like they were going to be getting out of bed.

By the time Ginny came back, he was lying down, holding the blankets for her. She smiled shyly at him as she crawled in and snuggled close to his warm body again.

It took her a minute to get comfortable and she sighed with pleasure at the heat coming off of him.

He pressed his lips to her hair and held her tightly to him.

After a few minutes, he whispered, “I won’t.”

She stiffened at his words, but then relaxed against him again, pressing her lips to his chest.

“Thank you, love.” she said, quietly and within minutes, she was asleep, her breathing slow and rhythmic.

It took a little longer for Steve to settle into sleep. He was trying to unravel all of the revelations of the day. Being with a woman was much more of a minefield than he had ever imagined. After a few minutes of his thoughts going around in circles, he gave it up. He focused on Ginny’s breathing and slowing his to match hers and was soon sound asleep, too.

 

It was 3:09 am by the alarm clock when Steve woke up. He must have been having an erotic dream, though he couldn’t recall the details, but he had a throbbing erection.

He looked over at Ginny, who was curled in a fetal position facing away from him, fast asleep. He stared at the ceiling for a few minutes trying to think of other things so he could get back to sleep, but all he could think about was how good it would feel right now to be inside Ginny.

Ginny felt him roll towards her and press his hard cock against her behind. She wiggled her ass against him and heard him sigh with pleasure.

“You’re determined to make sure I remember you while we’re apart, eh?” she said, sleepily.

“You just look so delicious lying here half uncovered.” He ran his finger down her arm, raising gooseflesh.

She shivered and caught his hand to stop him. “What would you like, lover?” she asked, teasingly.

“I think right here is perfect.” he said and Ginny pulled forward a little bit so he could find his way deep into her.

But he didn’t want a middle of the night quickie. He trailed kisses and little bites down her neck and across her shoulder and played with first one, then the other nipple until they both felt like little marbles between his fingers. Then he started to thrust into her very slowly, pushing as deep as he could at the end of each stroke.

Ginny writhed and moaned in his arms as he started to move a little bit faster. Then he pulled out slowly and slammed himself deep into her and her orgasm came crashing in on her. He did it again, and she curled a little tighter around the source of her pleasure trying to control it, to contain it. Once more and she arched her back, taking him deeper and growled deep in her throat as pleasure and primal sensation flooded through her body.

Steve held her tightly to him, panting. He was gritting his teeth trying to gain control. He did not want to come yet. This was only half of what he wanted to do. His balls were tight against his body and he could feel his cock buck as it baulked at not being allowed its release. If she had moved in that second, he would have lost, but she didn’t.

It took him a few minutes before he trusted himself to move again, and when he did, Ginny arched her back, taking him deeper inside of her. He started to move slowly, teasing her nipples again and enjoying her response as she pushed back against him with every thrust.

He pulled back slowly and slammed himself deep into her twice and on the third time, he could feel her starting to clench around him and her breath coming quickly between incoherent sounds. He couldn’t hold back any longer and speeding up his thrusts he came hard inside her as she cried out, “Oh, god! Oh, yes!”

Ginny was so sensitive that she could feel Steve’s cock buck and shudder as he came. Her own orgasm was so intense that it touched something deep inside her. She was surprised when she felt tears on her face, then heard a long, shuddering sob force its way up from her chest and out of her mouth.

There was a small, logical part of her brain that was asking why she was crying, but she had no answer and she couldn’t stop.

Steve was still in the throes of his orgasm when he felt her start to shake.

He pushed himself up on one elbow and stroking her hair off her face, whispered, “Ginny, what’s wrong?” But he could tell she couldn’t answer him, even if she wanted to.

So he quickly pulled out of her and turned her towards him so he could hold her and try to comfort her. He pulled the blankets over the both of them and whispered words of comfort as he tried to hold her together. But she was inconsolable and continued to sob and shake no matter what Steve said or did.

Finally, after about 10 minutes, the shaking broke down into shuddering sobs as she tried to get control of herself.

When Steve thought she may be able to tell him what was wrong, he asked, “Are you okay?”

“I…I think so.” Ginny said, trying to catch her breath. “I’m so sorry, Steve.”

“Don’t be sorry. Just tell me you’re okay.” he said, looking down at her with a worried look and trying to see her face. “Tell me what happened.”

“It was so intense, it touched off something…an emotional response. Once it started, all of the painful memories from my life just came flooding in.” Her breath was still shuddering occasionally. “This has happened once before, a long time ago.”

Steve was stroking her hair, now he kissed the top of her head. “Are you okay, now?”

Ginny reached for a couple of tissues and sat up to deal with her flowing eyes and nose. Steve sat up with her, keeping a hand on her back.

She sighed, deeply. “I think so.” She looked up at him with swollen, red eyes.

Steve put his arm around her and leaned his head against hers. She reached over and put her hand over his heart. He covered her hand with his and brought it to his lips to kiss. She looked up at him again, this time with a smile turning one corner of her mouth.

“Where did you get the idea to do that?” she asked.

Steve smiled, shyly. “I guess it came to me in a dream.”

“It was definitely worth the tears.” she said, running her finger down his cheek and across his chin. She lifted her mouth to his for a long, sweet kiss.

He lay down and pulled her with him, covering them both with the blankets.

“When this happened before, was it just the sex, or did you have trauma in your life then, too?” Steve asked.

“Now that you mention it,” she said, sitting up a little to look at him, “that was shortly after my friend, Cecile, from high school was killed in a car accident and my cousin, Jody, died of cancer.”

“Sounds like this may be a delayed reaction to what’s been happening in your life the last couple of months.” Steve said, stroking her back.

“You might be right…I hope you’re right. I’d like to try that again someday.” She smiled suggestively as him.

“Me, too.” he said and pulled her down for a kiss and then down beside him. “Next time without the tears, I hope.”

“Moi, aussi.” she said.

“Get some more sleep, love. I won’t wake you again.” Steve said and pressed his lips to her hair.

“You wake me whenever you want.” she said, drowsily and they both settled back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

